It’s the time of the year when people are making lists.  Mostly of things they or others want for Christmas.

I’m sure I’ll get around to that, but before the Thanksgiving holiday is completely gobbled up like the last helping of Aunt Maude’s squash casserole, I wanted to capture a few thoughts.

As I look back on 2010, I’m thankful for:

  • A God who is patient with me when I forget too easily, learn too slowly and live with too much fear and too little faith.
  • Family and friends who love and support us- no matter what.
  • God leading us to good doctors and the right medicine to help keep our daughter’s breathing issues under control.
  • 13 years with my bride and best friend.
  • Stability.  We have lived in our current house longer than any single place in our marriage.
  • A few home improvement projects that have inched said house towards the end of the remodeling phase.  We’re not there yet, but we’re closer.
  • Getting to be a part of and help lead a faith community that I’m genuinely proud of.  Our recent search for a new team member made me realize how unusually healthy and drama-free our church is.
  • That I can be myself in every part of my life and rarely feel the need to project an image.
  • Music.  Especially the voices, notes and lyrics that speak to me so deeply that I sing them after they’ve faded.
  • Watching my daughter learn to read and seeing her love for it grow.
  • My son’s sweet and generous spirit.  He’s the only 3-year-old I know who will willingly divvy up his cookie with the whole family.
  • The challenges and uncertainties of the past year.  They drove me to Jesus in ways that nothing else has.
  • The trip that Jen and I took to WY.  Just the two of us, back in a patch of wilderness we have come to love, being romanced by our Creator at every turn.  It was magical.
  • The chance to live life in NC and the Triangle.  Great people, rich history, natural beauty, good food, 4 seasons, etc.
  • The palpable momentum and burgeoning opportunities that our faith community is experiencing.  I’m excited for 2011.
  • The fact that my kids still think I’m cool.  Those days are definitely numbered.
  • John Eldredge’s ministry.  God has used him to put words to much of what I desire in my life with God.
  • Turning 40.  I feel like a legit grown-up.  I realize I’ve learned enough to have something to offer others and that I still have so much ahead of me.
  • All the bits of growth, maturity, change and healing I’ve seen in my and others’ lives.  By God’s grace we’ll get there eventually.

I’m sure there’s much more, but that’s what comes to mind right now.

How about you?  What are you grateful for?

 

