Last week I dropped some things off at a friend’s office and we had a chance to catch up. She was checking in on me, asking me how various parts of my life (work, family, etc.) were going. Then she blindsided me with this one, “

So what are you doing for fun these days?”

Wow, I didn’t see that coming.

My answer? “Nothing.”

Don’t get me wrong. I’m fairly busy and incredibly happy. My job is rewarding. I LOVE spending time with my family. I’ve got some good friends and dig my church community. I enjoy a lot of things that I do. But I don’t do anything simply because I enjoy it. That’s not a complaint. Just the truth.

Case in point: I went bowling Saturday night. Had a blast. Hung with some really cool guys from our church. Even bowled a 145. But I didn’t go just because I wanted to. It was a work thing. And a church thing. And a friend thing.

Here’s another: I’m back in the gym. Nothing major. Just a little weight lifting and cardio. Am I going because I enjoy it? Heck no. I want to lose weight. Be healthy. Feel better about myself. Catch my wife’s eye when I walk around naked. (OK- you probably didn’t need that last image.) Bottom line, I don’t mind working out. But I certainly don’t do it for fun.

The crazy thing is that my friend’s question came at the perfect time. A couple of days later our teaching conversation at church focused on the idea that God trusts each of us with life and time. We talked about our need to appreciate God’s gift of the present (pun intended) by using our time wisely. I suggested that this meant more than being super productive. Appreciating our time means experiencing the entire rhythm of life with God: work, rest, relationships- and FUN. I know the right things to say, even if I don’t do them all the time.

So now I’ve got to figure out what I would do simply because I enjoy it.

While I wrack my brain I’d love to hear from you: What are you doing for fun these days?

