Let me go on record here.

Generally speaking, I am not a fan of email forwards.

Or those chains that I must keep going lest the world end or I be deemed heartless.

So when I got “tagged” on Facebook by a friend with the “25 Random Things About Me” note- I ingored it.

Then I got tagged by another friend.

And another.

And 17 more.

So I caved.

I pumped out my own fascinating factoid list and posted it- mostly so that I’d be off the hook and people would quit bugging me.

But then a surprising thing happened.

The friends I begrudgingly “tagged” started writing their own notes.

And they were interesting.

My inbox filled up with comments.

We traded compliments, questions and quips.

This was actually fun.

So, for what it is worth, here’s my list of 25 random things about me:

1. I can touch my nose to my tongue- no hands required.

2. Although I claim FL as my home state, I was born in Nebraska on an Air Force base. We moved to FL when I was 1.  Since then I’ve been back to Nebraska once- driving through on my way to see Mount Rushmore.

3. If first met my wife when she 14. We did NOT date then.

4. My retirement plan is to have a small home near one of my kids and travel much of the year in an RV working in national parks. Jen is actually on board with this.

5. I have stood with 50 yards of a Florida panther in the wild on 2 different occasions. Since I didn’t have a gun with me either time, both encounters were pretty scary.

6. My first car was a 1973 VW Beetle. My parents bought it from a friend for $600 in 1986 and the floor pans were so rusty that I could see the ground beneath me when I drove. The driver’s seat was propped up on 2x4s.

7. I am pretty competitive when I play games and get pretty physical when I play sports. I try to hide this but it doesn’t work for long.

8. I’m a sucker for vampire movies & novels.

9. I once rolled a car at 55mph wearing only a lap seat belt and walked away without a scratch.

10. I don’t have any tattoos on my body, but if I ever get one it will probably be large.

11. I do have a tattoo on my brother’s arm- he got it in my honor. It’s a cross w/my initials and a scripture verse about brotherly love.

12. Aside from having my wisdom teeth out, I’ve never had surgery. Aside from my birth and the birth of my kids, I’ve never spent a night in a hospital.

13. When I was 18 I discovered all 4 of my wisdom teeth were impacted and had them broken and extracted under local anesthetic. I went camping 2 days later.

14. I had never set foot on my college campus until the day I moved into the dorms my freshman year.

15. I was 17 yrs and 52 days old when I graduated from high school.

16. I don’t mind eating meals out, going to movies or taking road trips by myself. In fact, I find it refreshing.

17. I like sprinting but hate jogging.

18. I want to hike the entire Appalachian Trail- probably in segments over a couple of decades.

19. Left to my own devices I’m more of an introvert. My profession has brought out the more extroverted side of me.

20. I enjoy shopping and LOVE getting a good deal.

21. I have never ice skated. And don’t care if I ever do.

22. I have never seen the movie “Titanic”. And don’t ever intend to. (I already know how the story ends.)

23. I’ve never been to NYC. This, I would actually like to do. Wanna go?

24. I got a catfish fin stuck in my foot on my 12th birthday. My mom (the nurse) tried to pull it out with her hemostats.

25. I have a grandma named Beulah who sends me a handmade quilt every Christmas. I think I have about 15 of them.

With all that said, I’m sure your life is more complete.

Oh yeah, one more thing.

Don’t take this as a sign of weakness.

I still won’t read most of your email forwards or keep the chains going.

