A couple days back I was checking out TheSixtyOne– a site my buddy Josh frequents to find new tunes from up and coming artists.  TheSixtyOne lets you listen to FULL versions of songs, search by musical categories and even write your own reviews. Check it out if you are looking for something new/different.

williamf1I’ve been in a semi-mellow mood of late so I searched the “folk” section and happened upon the sounds of William Fitzsimmons.  In addition to a beard that would make an early American mountain man beam with pride, William is a gifted songwriter with some interesting life experience (he was born to two blind parents and has been a mental health counselor) that colors his lyrics..  Fitzsimmon’s sound begins with his gentle voice and combines various acoustic instruments with the occasional use of electronic loops.  His music has been featured on several TV shows including “Grey’s Anatomy” and “One Tree Hill”.

Jen and I both liked him right away and ended up buying some of William’s work.  Jen said she could have his music on all day and not get tired of it.  I’d agree that Fitzsimmons is easy on the ears and can be enjoyed in either the forefront or the background of your day.  If you want to TAKE A LISTEN, I’d recommend  “Funeral Dress”, “Everything Has Changed” and “After All”.

Or check out a live, acoustic version of “Goodnight” below.

Enjoy.

