bwmwater1A couple of weeks ago I mentioned that our church is partnering with Blood Water Mission in a project to help provide clean drinking water for a few of the 316 million people in Africa who don’t have any.

44 people in our faith community have agreed to give up all beverages except water from March 1- April 9th.  During that time we’re supposed to keep track of how much money we’d have spent on other drinks.  On Easter we’ll pool this cash together (along with some funds from others who aren’t doing the water-only thing, but still want to contribute) and send it to BWMission.  Every dollar we give will supply 1 African with water for an entire year- which is pretty cool.

In addition to helping others, we’re hoping that this small sacrifice will help benefit us too- making us more sensitive to the suffering of others and more appreciative of what Jesus sacrificed for us as we get closer to Easter.

Today marks day 13 of my water-only experience.  So far I’ve stayed on track- except for one brain lapse.  One night during the first week Jen baked home made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. I poured myself a nice, cold glass of milk and ate my portion.  I didn’t even realize what I’d done until about 15 minutes later.  This slip showed me how much I take for granted being able to drink and eat what I want- when I want.  Almost mindlessly so.  Much of the world has a dramatically different daily existence that I have to work hard to even imagine.

If you asked me what this experience would be like before I started, I’d have said it would be tough for me.  I’ve never been a big water drinker- mostly under the guise that I like flavor in my beverages.  Although I’ve had the day or meal where I wished for a sweet tea or diet coke, drinking water instead hasn’t been a big deal.

The first couple of days I had a mild headache as my system asked not so politely for some caffeine.  The week after that I saw regular dips in my energy level- often after meals where I would normally feed my body not only caffeine, but good amounts of sugar via sweet tea.  I tried to use both mild forms of discomfort as prompts to pray for those this project will help.

I’ll check in again in a week or so and let you know how it is going and what else I’m learning.

Blessings,
Fred

