“What does it mean to have written beautiful words about suffering. Nothing! Nothing! One must experience it to know what such effusions are worth.”            – Saint Therese of Lisieux

STATION 3: JESUS IS STRIPPED OF HIS GARMENTS

jesusstrippedOpening Prayer:

Lord Jesus Christ,
take me along that holy way
yo
u once took to your death,
Take my mind, my memory,
above all my reluctant heart,
and let me see what once you did
for love of me and all the world.

Scripture Reading:

John 19:23-24

For Reflection:

stations10This is the part of the story we conveniently omit from our tellings.

There’s something about a nude Jesus that we just can’t bring ourselves to film, sculpt or paint.  But like every other victim of crucifixion, His clothing was taken from Him.

This wasn’t a sensual act.  It was intended to humiliate.  Jesus was left exposed for all to see and judge.

What would it feel like to be in that place? To have not just our bodies- but our hearts minds and souls- laid bare for everyone to see?

What if the coverings were ripped off of all of our secrets, sins and regrets?  Could we bear the shame?  The humiliation?

Jesus did this for us.

Willingly.

Take a couple of moments and set before God anything in your heart or past that you would be ashamed for others to see.

Leave those burdens for Jesus.

He has already carried them on His wounded, naked flesh.

Closing Prayer:

I adore you, O Christ,

and I bless you,

because by your holy cross,

you have redeemed the world.

