“What does it mean to have written beautiful words about suffering. Nothing! Nothing! One must experience it to know what such effusions are worth.”            – Saint Therese of Lisieux

STATION 5: JESUS DIES ON THE CROSS

crucifix1Opening Prayer:

Lord Jesus Christ,
take me along that holy way
you once took to your death,
Take my mind, my memory,
above all my reluctant heart,
and let me see what once you did
for love of me and all the world.


Scripture Reading:

John 19:28-30

For Reflection:

3crossesblackwhiteEver been really thirsty?  So thirsty that your lips got gummy and all traces of moisture had long since disappeared from your mouth?

How parched would you have to be to ask for a drink of vinegar?  With your tongue so swollen that you had to struggle to form the words for the request?

That’s how Jesus ordered up His final beverage.

Then He died.

The night before, Jesus ate His final meal and had His last decent glass of wine.

More than a final does of fuel for His body- Jesus used His last supper to describe what His death on the cross would mean.

While they were eating, Jesus took bread and blessed it. He broke the bread, gave it to his disciples, and said, “Take this, and eat it. This is my body.”

Then he took a cup and spoke a prayer of thanksgiving. He gave it to them and said, “Drink from it, all of you. This is my blood, the blood of the promise. It is poured out for many people so that sins are forgiven.

“I can guarantee that I won’t drink this wine again until that day when I drink new wine with you in my Father’s kingdom.”   -Matthew 26:26-29

Jesus death was a tragedy for all those who loved Him.  As He breathed His last, the sky grew dark as did the hearts of His friends.

But the blood was spilt with a purpose.

It fulfilled a promise.

That people who were far away from God.

Could draw near again.

There wasn’t a single ounce of life that Jesus wasn’t willing to spend to keep His word to us.

Closing Prayer:

I adore you, O Christ,
and I bless you,
because by your holy cross,
you have redeemed the world.