STATION 7: JESUS IS BURIED

jesus_burial2Opening Prayer:
Lord Jesus Christ,
take me along that holy way
you once took to your death,
Take my mind, my memory,
above all my reluctant heart,
and let me see what once you did
for love of me and all the world.

Scripture Reading:
John 19:41-42

For Reflection:
jesus_burialWith daylight fading, Jesus is placed in a borrowed tomb hollowed out of rock.

The tomb is much like this day- dark, hard, cold, uncompromising.

Then a large stone is rolled over the entrance to seal the grave.

As it settles into the trough across the doorway with a thud, you can feel the finality and weight of what has happened echo deep in the hearts of all present.

If only Jesus’ friends remembered what their Rabbi had said.

If only they could recall His promises to rejoin them in a short time.

Then there would be hope.

But those words are lost on them for now.

On this day they walk away with nothing but sorrow.

Closing Prayer:
I adore you, O Christ,
and I bless you,
because by your holy cross,
you have redeemed the world.

