It’s that time of year when people start rolling out their “best” music lists.

These canons are sometimes lengthy, with anywhere from 10-100 entries.  And the criteria used to compile them is varied and complex.

I’m looking for something quite a bit simpler than that.

One song, album or artist with one qualification.

When you want to leave music on in the background to repeat while you work, create, think, cook, sleep, play, etc.- what’s your go to song, album or band?

Lately for me it’s been “Ain’t No Sunshine” by Bill Withers.  Although it’s 38 years old, and barely 2 minutes long, I can literally let it repeat for hours.

If you aren’t familiar with the song, or wonder how I’ve got a play count numbering in the hundreds on a tune that I’ve only owned a few weeks, take a listen below.

Now how about you?  What do you press the repeat button on?

