It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted.  Honestly, I’ve been so busy at work that the idea of doing any more writing, creating or communicating when I get home hasn’t seemed very appealing.  Now that I’m close to catching my breath, I want to get back to blogging.

I plan on sharing some happenings from the past couple of months- but in honor of the calendar, I’m posting this first.

Here’s a confession: I’m a fan of vampires.  Actually, I should say I’m a fan of stories about vampires since I don’t believe they really exist.

Now, please don’t lump me in with the rest of the folks who got sucked up in the Twilight phenomenon.  I’ve been reading about vampires since I pinched my mom’s Anne Rice novels from one of her many overflowing bookcases over 25 years ago.

I realize that it may seem odd to some that a person who tries to center his life around following Jesus enjoys this kind of thing.  However, I find that tales about vampires often inspire me to think deeply about faith.  Here are a few reasons why:

  • Many of these tales include direct discussions about God, Jesus, eternity, sin, faith, etc.
  • Vampires struggle with stewarding their power.  Some see their “gifts” as an advantage to be exercised for their own gain & pleasure.  Others see their power as a dangerous thing and occasionally steward it for the good of others.
  • And then there’s the issue of immortality.  We may think we’d like to live forever here, but most old vampires find themselves weary from the centuries.   Would we choose immortality  if it meant we were separated from those we love who couldn’t live forever?
  • The offer to become a vampire reminds me a lot of the first temptation.  Would you like to be a god?  To have special knowledge?  Great power?
  • Then there’s the blood thing.  For a vampire to live in its curse, something must die.  Smacks of the OT sacrificial system, no?

I guess I see these mythical creatures as exaggerations of the human condition.  Of course, I could be over thinking all of this.  Anyway, let’s get to the title of this post.

Due to Twilight’s success- and the flood of cheesy copies by those who seek to cash in on it- vampires have become synonymous these days with teenage angst.  Which is a shame.

So for those of you interested in vampires, but not in a shirtless Taylor Lautner, I offer you a more interesting and significantly less WB styled alternative:  Abraham Lincoln- Vampire Hunter.

Author Seth Grahame-Smith writes alternative history that paints our 16th president as an early American “Buffy” and suggests that our Civil War may have ultimately been motivated by conflicts between vampires who wanted to keep slaves as an easy food source and those who felt called to protect their human “brethren”.

The result may not be accurate, but is entertaining.

You can get a small taste here:

And if you happen to like the Twilight books, I’ve got no quarrel with you.  I’ve read 3 of the 4 novels and have enjoyed them for the most part.  Can’t say the same for the movies.

